Blog 5 Composition IX

My piece of work that I picked from the Early Modern time was Composition IX by Wassily Kandinsky.

Composition IX
1936 (120 Kb); Oil on canvas, 113.5 x 195 cm (44 5/8 x 76 3/4 in); Musee National d’Art Moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris

Wassily Kandinsky’s full name is Wasily Wasilyevich Kandinsky. Kandinsky was a Russian artist born on December 4, 1866. Kandinsky spent his childhood in Odessa. He learned how to play the piano and cello at a very young age. Kandinsky went to school at the University of Moscow and studied law and economics. He after being quite successful in his position got offered a job at University of Dorpat when he was thirty and this was when he began painting.

This style of abstract painting was not yet recognized. A lot of his paintings could reflect the influence of music. He stated “I applied streaks and blobs of color onto the canvas with a palette knife and I made them sing with all the intensity I could…” This made him become the founder of abstract art.

To create his pieces of art he would occasionally mix sand with the paint to give his painting the granular texture.

It took him another ten years after his last canvas to create Composition IX. The wide diagonal colors serve as a solid background for the shapes that seem like they are floating in front of it. It is like a dream like form. It is known as one of the least impressive of Kandinsky’s series. They say that it is a pale piece of art compared to his other earlier compositions.

I think that this is a very unique he used a wide range of colors and had them side-by-side as a background. Instead of having a solid background or a background with a color fading into another such as black to grey, he had six different colors in the background. He had all these colors without fading into each other but just the solid color and then then next solid color. I think this made the painting very unique. Then on top of the background he had items painted. Where they do have the illusion that they are floating. I also like that it is not cluttered or very busy. A lot of the items that are painted are close together at the top of the painting but I think that the bottom of the painting balances it out because the bottom of the painting is almost bare and not so busy. I really like the painting because of its vibrant but soft tone colors. I like this painting a lot and I liked that he mixed it up and had some changes from his other paintings.

http://www.glyphs.com/art/kandinsky/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wassily_Kandinsky

2 Responses to “Blog 5 Composition IX”

  1. Hydroponic nutrients Gardening Guide – Hydroponic nutrient solutions composition | Garden Bird Feeders Says:

    […] Blog 5 Composition IX « smcoulman's Blog […]

  2. timandthegiant1 Says:

    I love the history of this piece of work. I do the same thing for my blogs. But I messed up on the Impressionism blog. I gave a detailed account of the “Starry Night” and Van Gogh and did not follow the assignment. I lost 15 points because of that. Your work is awesome but like me you did not follow the assignment, nothing is mentioned about WWI or the Great Depression, other then that great job.

Leave a Reply

